Democrat Lieutenant Governors Slam Trump Gag Rule


April 8, 2019


On the heels of Trump-Pence administration’s announcement late last week to further politicize the Title X program, strip Title X grants from several qualified Planned Parenthood affiliates and give them to entities that do not provide contraceptives, 11 lieutenant governors came out today and condemned the Trump gag rule on the Title X family planning program.

The lieutenant governors wrote, in a letter to HHS Secretary Alex Azar, “The Title X gag rule undermines women’s health and imposes sweeping new restrictions on reproductive healthcare providers…. We strongly urge you not to undermine the important work that our states and administrations of both parties have done for decades to support women and families through Title X.”

The 11 lieutenant governors join mounting opposition to the Title X gag rule, including organizations representing more than 4.3 million health care providers, the American Medical Association, American Nurses Association, National Medical Association, American Academy of Pediatrics, American Academy of Family Physicians, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, National Association of Community Health Centers, the public health community, governors, and members of Congress.    

Title X is the nation’s only federal program dedicated to birth control, STI testing, cancer screenings, and other essential reproductive health care. It currently provides access to essential health care services for more than 4 million patients. The Title X program has been an important partnership between the federal government and states for more than 40 years, and has been supported by Democrats and Republicans alike.

The lieutenant governors wrote that they are prepared to match words with action.

Already, 23 state Attorneys General have filed a lawsuit to block the Title X gag rule. Separately, the American Medical Association joined with Planned Parenthood to sue the Trump administration regarding the harmful Title X gag rule.  

The letter was lead by Delaware Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long and signed by the following lieutenant governors:

Lt. Governor Mike Cooney
Executive Committee Member

Lt. Governor Kathy Hochul
New York
Executive Committee Member

Secretary of State Katie Hobbs

Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz

Lt. Governor Josh Green

Lt. Governor Garlin Gilchrist II

Governor Peggy Flanagan

Lt. Governor Kate Marshall

Lt. Governor Dan McKee
Rhode Island

Lt. Governor David Zuckerman

Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes


The letter can be viewed HERE and seen below.